American Ski Classic Legends of Honor

Created in 1983, the Legend of Honor award is presented annually, in conjunction with the American Ski Classic, to recognize an outstanding individual or group that has had a profound impact on the sport of skiing and ski racing throughout the course of their career, both on and off the racecourse.  Each year’s Legend of Honor is nominated and selected by a panel of Vail Valley ski enthusiasts, including key leadership representing the Vail Valley Foundation and Vail Resorts, with the recipient being inducted into the International Ski Racing Hall of Fame during the Legends Banquet.  The inaugural Legend of Honor award was presented to France’s Emile Allais in 1984 and the trophy has been awarded annually since.

Legends of Honor

1984 Emile Allais
1985 Birger Ruud
1986 Dick Durrance & Gretchen Fraser
1987 Toni Seelos
1988 Stein Eriksen
1989 Freidl Pfeifer
1990 Karl Molitor
1991 The Werner Family
1992 Andrea Mead Lawrence
1993 Christl Cranz
1994 Christian Pravda
1995 Tom Corcoran
1996 Barney McLean
1997 Anderl Molterer
1998 Nancy Greene-Raine
1999 Pepi Gramshammer
2000 Marielle & Christine Goitschel
2001 Toni Sailer
2002 Billy Kidd & Jimmie Heuga
2003 Gustavo Thoeni
2004 Bob Beattie
2005 Bernhard Russi
2006 Rosi Mittermaier-Neureuther
2007 President Gerald Ford & Family
2008 Franz Klammer
2009 Cindy Nelson
2010 The Crazy Canucks
2011 Phil & Steve Mahre
2012 Marc Girardelli
2013 Tamara McKinney
2014 Anne-Marie Moser Proell
2015 Lasse Kjus / Kjetil Andre Aamodt